Eve Online: Retribution ‘n Stuff

I had some interesting experiences in the days leading up to the Retribution release. For starters my PC decided to give me the blue screen of death a few times before Tuesday’s patch. Every time it happened I just happened to be in w-space doing stuff of a covert nature…like peeking into our neighbor’s c2 and looking around, when suddenly BLUE SCREEN and who knows if anyone saw my ship. Extremely frustrated, I bust out my wife’s laptop, which is by no means a “gaming” laptop, but its better than nothing. I log on to my account to see that my toon is still in his ship and in one piece. I get back to my home system and the safety of my POS so I can begin to mess with getting the windows set up on this considerably smaller screen. I’ve been spoiled with a 23″ monitor, so I have plenty of room to have all my essential windows up plus some and still be able to look at what’s going on in space. So I get the laptop set up as best I can, but the screen is so cluttered and small that I really don’t feel comfortable operating in w-space with this kind of setup. I begin to look over all the stuff I have at my POS and consider what it’d take to evacuate. I conclude that the best way to do it would be to hope that I get a K162 from hisec before long and just make trips out with Iteron V’s, and then one or two Orca loads to finish it off. At this point it’s almost 3am my time, and therefore almost downtime for Eve. I decide not to make any decisions in haste for the night, but rather in the morning I will try to put my redneck touch on my PC to see if it’s something obvious. So the next day, which was Tuesday and the release of Retribution, I unplug my PC, and start pushing on stuff to make sure everything is seated correctly into place. Then something caught my eye…one of the sticks of RAM was literally halfway out on the top side. Somehow the lever that holds the RAM into place was caught under my video card. Long story short: I dun pushed it in and it dun works. I downloaded the new patch and was able to play the game all day long with absolutely no issues whatsoever. Yay!

So on to Retribution. Awesome! I started my Retribution adventure with a lowsec static that was two jumps away from Jita. I took out some stuff for the market and put over 400 million ISK in the Corp coffers. While I was at it I bought the Ore Frigate skill book and the Venture itself to take back to the home system where I had conveniently waiting a nice Ladar site. I even had level one trained by the time I got the Venture all fitted up. I was pleased to be able to get all 3500 units of C-50 and 1500 units of C-60 into the ore hold without jet-canning or making trips. It took a little while to do, but I suspect with the skill trained to level 5 and some decent boosts, it’ll be more efficient than the battle cruiser setup.

In other notes, the new sleeper explosions are very nice looking. I believe that’s a new feature anyway, as I didn’t read all the patch notes because I’m lazy and generally dislike reading. I also lost a Drake to some sleepers, which was an extremely idiotic error on my part, and totally avoidable. I was testing out active shield tanking fits (reinventing the wheel I know), and cut it a little too close. I’m new to most ships that are not Gallente, not that it’s an excuse, but I was curious to see the Drake’s capabilities with my maxed shield skills. Didn’t work out so well.

One more piece of news, more of a coincidence really: I was bored toward the end of my playtime on Tuesday with nothing but Grav sites in my home system, so I decided to scan and explore my statics. I was hoping my lowsec static was close to fuel, but was 20 jumps away from the nearest fuel seller, and deep within a lowsec pocket. Moving on to my static C2, I jump through to see nothing on d-scan. I fly to the outermost planet and find a tower, so this wormhole is occupied. I fly to the sun and scan again to find another tower. Rather than using d-scan to find the exact location of a POS, when I’m feeling lazy I will just check the info on the POCO’s. “Wow that Corp looks familiar.” I thought to myself. I happened to stumble into the home system of the executor Corp in my alliance. We are a small alliance, but we have our good chats in alliance chat…except tonight. “Anyone awake???”, I asked. No response. Of course the one time I stumble across people I know in w-space, no one’s home. I thought about leaving a Giant Secure Container at a safe and naming something like “Red was here! MWAHAHA!”. But I didn’t.

Other than what I just wrote about, I didn’t experiment with any other new features of Retribution. So far I’m very pleased with the patch with what I’ve seen. I even received a 10 million ISK bounty from a complete stranger, so I guess that’s good? Maybe I’m getting popular.
I’ve also read that running multiple clients is a bit more of a load on your PC. When I have ISK enough to re-sub my Orca alt’s account I’ll find out how two clients run on my PC. Until then fly safe.

Thanks for reading.

2 responses to “Eve Online: Retribution ‘n Stuff

  1. Ha, PC problems, I know all about it. I now have Windows 8 which frequently decides that it is time to reboot. It gives me a warning – which I click away, obviously – and then just reboots. Last time that happens, I was in a Proteus, cloaked watching someone’s POS…. Not good.
    Glad you got it fixed though…

Leave a Reply

