Damn Expensive PLEX’s

It’s been a while since my last post, but it’s also been about the same amount of time since anything different has happened…anything at all.

As the title suggests, PLEX’s are still ridiculously expensive. So much so that my alt account was inactive for the better part of a month. I had to sell my precious Rattlesnake battleship to get my main account PLEXed. I went on a selling spree of assets of mine that had been collecting dust over the past couple years so I could PLEX my alt’s account. The reason I needed the account active again is because I finally found a Corp, who is inactive, with an offline control tower and 92 weapons/eWar anchored to it. There were no juicy labs or assembly arrays, but the price of the weapons far outweighed the 50 million ISK to declare war. So, I initiated the wardec after a week of scouting the known players of the target Corp. Luckily, no one logged on to refuel their tower during the 24 hour stasis period (this had happened two times before).
As soon as the war went live (about 8:53 am my time), I started shooting with my main in his Armageddon and my alt in his Oracle. I didn’t realize that with the Odyssey expansion, the Armageddon went from being able to fit either 7 or 8 turrets, to only 5 (!!!). So there went a bunch of my DPS. Luckily the drone bay and bandwidth remained as so that I could still field 5 heavy drones. My alt, with his Oracle, added some DPS, but nothing to write home about. The tower went BOOM about 01:12 am my time…yeah, it took a bit longer than I expected. Nearly 17 hours of orbiting and shooting. I didn’t sit at the keyboard the whole time. My kids had some things going on around town, as well as some misc errands to run. You know…a day in the life of a family man/capsuleer. Unfortunately, I only got about 4 hours of sleep that night after I un-anchored and scooped up all 92 POS mods. I had to wake up at 06:30 am to undergo physical and written testing for Nevada Highway Patrol. My wife thinks I’m an idiot (which may be true). I tried explaining to her that control towers have a natural shield recharge rate, but she still didn’t care, and still thinks I’m an idiot. I managed to rake in over 4 times what I paid for the wardec, so not bad.

What did I learn? Never wardec a Corp with a large tower unless there are billions of ISK worth of spoils.

I’ve set up my 18 PI colonies in hisec…meh. I’ve gone from producing every P1 from P0, to only producing P1′s that yield a decent amount. I then sell the excess and buy the stuff I need to produce P2′s. I haven’t setup my advanced factory planet yet until I stockpile enough P2′s to run my advanced factory planet non-stop. My goal is to produce POS modules again like I used to.

I mentioned that I sold my poor Rattlesnake, among other stuff, for a PLEX. I still have my awesome Proteus and Tengu, which are both better and faster at completing missions. The Rattlesnake was more of a novelty ship. My alt has completed training of salvaging 5. He’s now on to Ore Industrial 5. I may or may not see about joining Pro Synergy with my alt once training has completed. They are a very awesome Corp with awesome people…and an even more awesome business plan in which their members make lots of ISK.

Also, TurAmarth ElRandir over at A Carbon Based Life gave me some great pointers and advice on making great ISK in Eve, and having more fun, with half the effort that I’m putting fourth now. I am probably more of a hermit in Eve than Evehermit himself. And I can’t seem to pry myself from my boring Corp full of my own alts. I have big aspirations for my Corp, but I lack the know-how to build numbers. I keep trying though. I may join up with a high-class wormhole Corp now that I can effectively fly a Tengu. I’ve never done anything in a wormhole class 4, 5 or 6. I hear of riches that are beyond my wildest e-dreams. Plus, flying with a fellow Eve blogger sounds enticing. I’ve also been interested in Splatus’ wormhole academy. I’ve lived in w-space before, but these guys take w-space residency to another level, so there’s always more to learn for me. I know Splatus is recruiting aspiring wormholers, so if you’re interested, go check out his blog here.

The near future for me has probably more missions to fund my never-ending PLEX need. Also, I’ll be harvesting planet’s resources. My Corp may be just a skeleton Corp if I can find my main in a high-class wormhole Corp. I think I could use a change of pace at this point. I’m sure there will be some more interesting posts to come…hopefully sooner than later. Whatever the case, I’ll be wandering around in New Eden doing something productive. Drop me a line (private chat) if you pass me by and say hello.

Thanks for reading.

9 responses to “Damn Expensive PLEX’s

  1. I try not to over think my EVE time at the moment. I just play when I can and appreciate the distraction from real life. I suspect however I’d have found it too lonely long ago if not for the social aspect blogging has provided.

    • Good point. I think I was trying to escape real life today…hence the post. I do enjoy the company in the Eve blogging community. A lot of really awesome people. Wait a second…lightbulb! “The Corporation of Eve Bloggers Corporation” [CEBC]. Quite possibly the most awesome Corp ever!

      • There would be too much risk of awoxing after contentious blog posts. Maybe it needs to be an Alliance of Solo Blogger Corps? That way you wouldn’t have open kill rights on your blogging corp mates?… :p

        • ZOMG!!! First Mabrick joined us then in the last few months I have had ‘talks’ with a few others in the EvE blogshere about possibly doing a temporary corp hop to HBHI for a ‘visit’ and to spend couple a weeks or months getting a feel for the C6 lifestyle (though so far no one has decided to go thru the vetting necessary for a visit to SYJ…) It’s EvE and my vouch only goes but so far… which is as it should be.

          SYJ also has SynCaine of “Hardcore Casual” (http://syncaine.com/) in one of our member corps and Sia Talos of “Shockwave Innovations” (http://shockwaveinnovations.org/) in another. So with me and Mab that’s 4 bloggers and as far as I know we may have others… (course, we are a 20 corp/700+ member Alliance so meh…)

          Now having sorta made noises as re you joining us, I have started to wonder if I am unintentionally recruiting from the pool of people I have some to know and hence have some reason to extend some faith in, (IE not spais and scammers, due to having come to know their basic playstyle and such from their blogs…) IE other bloggers…

          And I have toyed with the idea of “Bloggers Innnnn Spaaaace!” [BLIS] as a corp… LOL! And Hermit, I feel Kill Rights for Bad Grammar is perfectly reasonable. =]

          If I may, I would strongly advise you to give Splatus’s corp a go to get your wormhole legs as ’twere. They are strong on teaching and generally work them lower class holes. I know not their fleet doctrines but, if you were to consider HBHI (or one of our Ally AUTZ corps) just FYI we tend strongly to Armor Fleets, which means Tengus, Lokis, Guardians, Oracles etc. Lots of Amarrgh Goldskins but anything that can carry a decent Armor tank.

          Lots a T3′s (of course) and T1 armor (and occasionally shield) Low and Null roam fleets. we do a lot of Merc Ops, evictions, rescues and ‘ToO’s (Targets of Opportunity) for ISK, GFs and the LULZ…

          If you consider HBHI/SYJ, you might find it useful to convo Mabrick one evenin’ about his experiences as, like you, he played a solo(ish) game for may years until he joined with HBHI and came over to the Dark Side… BUAHAHAHAhAhahahahaa.. aa… ACK! =\

          • I have been in talks with Mr. Splatus lately. I may just be fortunate enough to get a shot in his Wormhole Academy to help with my wormhole legs. It’s been a long while since I’ve spent any time in w-space, so learning the ins and outs from the pros can only do me well.

            I was serious about how cool it’d be to have all us blogger-types in some sort of Corp/alliance/coalition. Talk about something fun to write about.

            • Cool.. that should work out good, from the sounds of it Splatus corp is active, a fun bunch and a good group to fly with.

              Yea… One of the things I have greatly enjoyed about both Mab and I being in HBHI and being bloggers, is the different POVs we each have on our life and times in Bastion… Imagine if t was a bunch of us… hooo wee!

Leave a Reply

